E-Shram Eligible Workers List, Benefits, Apply Online

eshram card registration

The Union Ministry of Labour and Employment has confirmed that more than 5.3 crore registrations have been done on the e-Shram portal. In an emergency, this database may provide necessary assistance to eligible unorganized workers.

The Ministry of Labor and Employment is continuously working to improve and protect the labour force of workers and their lives.

Keeping this in mind, in the pandemic situation, the Government of India launched an e-shram portal on 26 August 2021 to create a database of workers working in the unorganized sectors.

What Is eShram Card?

Central Government has developed an e-SHRAM portal, a centralized database of unorganized workers seeded with Aadhaar. After registering, they will get an Accidental Insurance cover of two lakh (Rs 2,00000/-) under PMSBY.

In future, through this portal, the government will deliver all social security benefits to unorganized workers.

Universal Account Number is a 12-digit number uniquely assigned to each unorganized worker after registration on the eshram portal.

The UAN number will be permanent, i.e. once set, it will remain unchanged throughout the employee’s life.

E-Shram Card Benefits

Right now the registration is going on through the e-shram portal only. Accident insurance cover of Rs 2 lakh will be provided to the registered workers for one year. The data can be used to provide financial assistance to eligible workers during a situation like National Crisis.

Check here – Update Name in Aadhaar Card

E-Shram Card Eligible Workers List

The e-shram card eligible workers list is mainly divided into three categories, Agriculture Sector, Automobile Sector and Construction Sector. So, where there are less than 10 workers in any of the factories in those three regions, they will be eligible to apply.

Besides, those who work in the unorganized sector like home-based, self-employed or on daily wages and are not members of ESIC or EPFO ​​are called unorganized workers and are eligible to apply for the e-shram card.

Even agricultural labourers and landless farmers in the agriculture sector will be eligible for registration on the e-shram portal. But, other farmers who have agricultural land will not be eligible.

So, unorganized workers, landless farmers, agricultural labourers, and many other workers in the age group of 16-59 years are eligible for registration on the e-shram portal. Following is the e-shram card eligible worker list.

Eligible Workers List:

Unorganized Sectors
Eligible Workers
Landless Farmer, Farmer, Toddy Tapper,
Coffee Plantation Worker, Tractor Driver,
Tea Plantation Worker, Ploughman, Harvester
Mechanic, Driller, Fitters, Welder, Moulder,
Blacksmith, Grinder, Auto Rickshaw Driver
Mason, Helper, Glazier, Pipefitter, Painter, Plumber,
Plasterer, Linemen, Labourer
Painter, Carpenter, Driver, Tailor, Fisherman,
TV mechanic, Plumber, Taxi Driver,
Beautician, Candymaker, Mat Weaver,
Hawker, Agarbati Maker
Check here – Link Aadhaar with PAN Online

How To Register for E-Shram Card?

For self-registration, any technical person can register through a smartphone or laptop by visiting the official e-Shram portal; Otherwise, they can register by visiting any ‘Common Service Centre‘ (CSC). The following documents are required to register on the e-shram portal.

  • Aadhar Linked Mobile Number
  • Aadhaar Number
  • Bank Account
  • Caste Certificate: To upload the caste certificate if they fall in any particular category, like SC/ST/OBC etc.

Note – If a worker does not have an Aadhaar-linked mobile number, they can visit the nearest CSCs and register through Biometric authentication.

Given below are the important steps of registration which are as follows.

e-Shram Card Eligible Worker List

1: Visit the official portal of e-Shram– Government of India-Ministry of Labour and Employment. Click on the link ‘Registration of e-Shram‘.

eShram Card Registration

2: On the next page, enter the Aadhaar-linked mobile number and captcha. A little below, the ‘Yes’ and ‘No’ options will be found to confirm the member of EPFO or ESIC. For eligible candidates, click on the ‘No‘ option and select the ‘Send OTP‘ option.

3: Enter the OTP received on the registered mobile number and click on the Submit‘ option.

e-Shram Card Eligible Worker List

4: On the next page, enter ‘Aadhaar number‘ and select the OTP option for KYC out of 3 options. Enter the captcha code, check the ‘Box‘ and click on the ‘Submit‘ option.

5: Enter the OTP and click on the ‘Validate‘ option. You will get the ‘e-Shram registration form‘ with your Aadhar details on the next page. Tick mark the (i agree) box and click on the ‘Continue To Enter Other Details.

6: Fill out the ‘e-Shram‘ form with your basic details, like email id, marital status, social category (SC/ST/OBC, if available upload it), and nominee details and click on the ‘Save and Continue option.

7: On the next screen enter the residential details, and tick mark the box if the current and permanent addresses are the same. Click on the ‘Save and Continue.

eShram Card Registration Process

8: Here, enter your educational qualification and upload the certificate, but it is not mandatory. Then, Select Monthly Income and Upload Income Certificate and click on the ‘Save and Continue option.

9: Now, this is the very important page where you have to enter the correct occupation and skill information, otherwise, it will be rejected during the verification process. Click on the ‘Save and Continue option.

e-Shram card registration

10: Now, enter your bank details like account number, bank name, IFC code, and branch name and click on the Save and Continue option. On the next page, check the details (preview), check the terms & conditions ‘box’ and click on the Submit option.

In this way, you will be successfully registered for the eshram card. Now you can download it.

Registration link: Check here

Home page: Check here

Q: What is an unorganized sector?

A: A sector or factory where less than 10 workers work without ESIC and EPFO is called an unorganized sector. If there are more than 10 workers, ESIC or EPFO will be mandatory, and it will be called an organized sector.

Q: Can I update my details in eShram?

A: Yes, you can update details by visiting on eSHRAM portal or through CSCs.

Q: What is a primary occupation?

A: The main source of income is the primary occupation.

Q: Who are the unorganized workers?

A: A home-based worker, self-employed worker and daily wage worker who is not a member of ESIC or EPFO are called unorganized workers.

About Anowar

A professional blogger and knowledge in educational fields

View all posts by Anowar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *